Leadership 2023

Roselyn EppPRESIDENT – Roselyn E. Epps, MD (2022)
Roselyn E. Epps, M.D., FAAP, FAAD is a pediatrician and dermatologist at the US Food and Drug
Administration (FDA). For over 20 years, Dr. Epps was engaged in pediatric dermatology education and also
clinical private practice of dermatology in Silver Spring, MD. She is Associate Clinical Professor in the
Departments of Pediatrics and Child Health and Dermatology at Howard University College of Medicine, and Associate Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and of Dermatology at George Washington University School of
Medicine and Health Sciences. Dr. Epps received her B.S., Cum Laude, from Brown University, Providence RI
and her M.D., with honors, from Howard University College of Medicine, Washington, DC. She completed her pediatric residency at Children's National Medical Center, Washington, DC, and dermatology residency at The
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN. For 14 years, Dr. Epps served as Chief of Pediatric Dermatology, Children's
National Medical Center.
Eric Marks, MDVICE PRESIDENT – Eric Marks, MD (2022)
Dr. Eric Marks is Professor Emeritus of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences. He is a 1968 graduate of Boston University and a 1973 graduate of the Bowman Gray School of Medicine. His did his Internal Medicine residency and Nephrology fellowship at Barnes Jewish Medical Center at Washington University School of Medicine. He came to Washington in 1979 on active duty with the Public Health Service and served in the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, Hypertension Endocrine Branch as a Staff Associate and Attending Physician. After leaving active duty in 1981, he joined the faculty of USUHS and held hospital appointments at Walter Reed Army Medical Center and National Naval Medical center, Bethesda until retirement in 2019.
Wendy BernsteinSECRETARY – Wendy Bernstein, MD (2021)
Dr. Bernstein is a hematologist oncologist who graduated from the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences and served 28 years in the Army Medical Department followed by another decade as a DoD civilian. Much of her career was spent with the US Military HIV Research Program where she worked on the development and testing of first generation CAR-T cells for HIV infection. She served as Chair of the Scientific Review Committee at National Naval Medical Center and Walter Reed National Military Medical Center and a member on the National Academy of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine 11th Update on Agent Orange in Viet Nam Veterans. She now practices Hematology Oncology part time through the American Red Cross, teaches at USUHS, and continues working on a variety of translational research projects.
Joseph D. Piorkowski, Jr.TREASURER – Joseph D. Piorkowski, Jr., D.O., J.D., MPH, FCPM, FCLM (2021)
Dr. Piorkowski served as a Flight Surgeon in the U.S. Naval Reserve Medical Corps for over 25 years until his retirement with the rank of Captain in 2005. He is board certified in Aerospace Medicine and Family Practice. Dr. Piorkowski is also an attorney with extensive experience representing physicians, scientists, hospitals, and pharmaceutical and medical device product manufacturers in a wide range of litigation. Dr. Piorkowski has served as an Adjunct Professor of Law at Georgetown University Law Center since 1992 and also as Clinical Assistant Professor in the Department of Surgery at the Georgetown University of Medical Center from 1995 to 2004.
Angeline LazarusMEMBERSHIP DIRECTOR - Angeline Lazarus, MD, MACP, FCCP (2020)
Dr. Angeline Lazarus is a pulmonologist . She graduated from Madras University at Madurai Medical College in Madurai, India. She migrated to the United States and completed her internship and residency, joined the United States Navy and completed fellowships in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the National Naval Medical Center, Bethesda, Maryland. She is a retired Navy Captain. She continued academic practice as a civilian at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center, Bethesda, Maryland. She recently retired and practices as a voluntary physician. She is a Professor of Medicine at the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences (USUHS) at Bethesda, MD and continues to be active in teaching. She received the Jane F. Desforges Distinguished Teacher award by the American College of Physicians (ACP), the James Leonard Teaching Excellence award from USUHS, and other teaching awards. She received Mastership designation by the ACP. She has participated in short term mission trips (medical and nonmedical) to India, China, Tanzania, and Albania. She has been an invited speaker at several national and international meetings.
Bryan ArlingDIRECTOR – Bryan Arling, M.D., FACP (2025)
Dr. Arling is a general internist who has been in private practice in the Washington, DC area for over 30 years. He has been on the Executive Committee of the Academy of Medicine of Washington, DC for 15 years. He is one of the expert panel of physicians on the U.S. News and World Report web page under Health and Medicine.
Paul L Kimmel,DIRECTOR – Paul L Kimmel, M.D., MACP (2021)
Dr. Kimmel served as Professor, and Director of the Division of Renal Diseases and Hypertension at George Washington University, and was Director of Education at the American Society of Nephrology. He currently is Clinical Professor of Medicine at George Washington University and Senior Advisor, Division of Kidney, Urologic and Hematologic Diseases, National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health.

Committee Chairs 2023

Admissions CommitteeArnyce Pock, M.D.admissionschair@acadmeddc.org
Audit CommitteeStephan Ladisch (2022)auditchair@acadmeddc.org
Constitution & Bylaws CommitteeJeffrey Kopp (2024)bylawschair@acadmeddc.org
Medical Schools CommitteeRandy Howe III, M.D., J.D. (2021)medschoolchair@acadmeddc.org
Nominations CommitteeMarva Moxey-Mims (2023)nominationschair@acadmeddc.org
Program CommitteeJoel Engelstein (2021)programchair@acadmeddc.org
Website CommitteeVacantwebchair@acadmeddc.org

Last Updated: February 21, 2022